The royal house belongs to the Lohani clan of the Yusufzai tribe of Afghans, who established themselves in Bihar during the twelfth century and ruled there as Sultans. Malik Khurram Khan, the founder of the Palanpur house, left Bihar and entered the service of Vishaldev of Mandore during the late fourteenth century. Appointed Governor of Songad Jhalor, he took control of that place in the confusion that followed the death of the Mandore ruler. He was later killed by his powerful Rajput neighbour, Trimmanna Solanki, who annexed Jhalor after his death. Malik Yusuf Khan, avenged his father's murder and regained control sometime afterwards. His successors ruled Jhalor as feudatories of the Sultans of Gujarat, though continuous warfare with the neighbouring Rajput clans prevailed for centuries. Malik Usman Khan served as Governor of Lahore and received the title of Zubdat ul-Mulk as a hereditary distinction. Malik Ghazni Khan II married the foster sister of Emperor Akbar, receiving Palanpur, Deesa and Dantiwada in dowry. He also received the hereditary title of Diwan in 1551, granted for his services in command of the force that took Attock from the Afghans. His descendants held the Vice-Regency of Jhalor, Sachor, Palanpur and Deesa, during the reign of Emperor Aurangzeb.

The Lohanis lost Jhalor to Dalpat Singhji Rathor during the early seventeenth century, victims of the alliance between Emperor Jehangir and the Rajputs. Diwan Pahar Khan I was forced to withdraw to the Aravali foothills in Gujarat. Pahar's successor, Diwan Firuz alias Kamal Khan, was reconciled to the Imperial authorities after Emperor Shah Jahan acknowledged his services in bringing in the outlaw, Kanji Koli.

After half a century of independence, the state came under increasing harassment by the Marathas. Like their neighbours, they were subject to the usual arbitrary "indemnities" and "taxes" that amounted to little more than extortion. The Lohani's therefore became keen allies of the British and concluded a treaty of alliance and protection with the HEIC in 1817. They were to prove loyal friends throughout the period of British rule. Despite her size, the military forces of this small state served with distinction in the Afghan wars of 1842, 1879 and 1919, the Indian Mutiny of 1857, the Great War of 1914-1918 and the Second World War 1939-1945. For much of this period, Palanpur was ruled by the two distinguished Nawabs, Sir Sher Muhammad Khan and his son Sir Taley Muhammad Khan. There enterprise and modernising zeal did more to improve the welfare and prosperity of their people than any time during their long history.

The state acceded to the Dominion of India on 15th of August 1947. The Australian born wife of Nawab Sir Taley Muhammad Khan received the style of Highness and recognition as Begum, at two minutes to midnight on that night, the last act of sovereignty by the last Viceroy of India. He joined with his neighbours to merge Palanpur into the Union of Saurashtra on 10th June 1948.


Gyronny murrey and vert a mural crown between three flames or. Helmet: Argent with ornaments or. Crest: A falcon close proper on a base or. Supporters: Antelope proper. Motto: "Ba Aqil giriftah ba shamsher dasht" sable on a riband vert. Lambrequins: Murrey and vert.

The ruling prince: Zubdat ul-Mulk Shri Diwan Mahakhan Nawab (personal name) Khan Bahadur, Nawab of Palanpur, with the style of His Highness.
The consort of the ruling prince: (personal name) Begum Sahiba, with the styled of Her Highness.
The Heir Apparent: Namdar Shri Nawabzada Shri (personal name) Khan Bahadur, Wali-ahad Sahib.
The younger sons of the ruling prince: Nawabzada Shri (personal name) Khan.
The daughters of the ruling prince: Nawabzadi (personal name) Begum Sahiba.
The other male descendants in the male line: Sahibzada Shri (personal name) Khan.
The other female descendants in the male line: Sahibzadi (personal name) Begum Sahiba.

None known.

Male primogeniture, with the right of adoption by the recognised head of the family, on the failure of natural heirs, according to Islamic law.

Gazeteer of the Bombay Presidency. Government Central Press, Bombay, 1883.
Suzanne Falkiner. Joan In India. Australian Scholarly Publishing, 2008.
Waman P. Kabadi (ed.), Indian Who's Who 1937-38,Yeshanand & Co., Bombay, 1937.
Sir Roper Lethbridge, KCIE, The Golden Book of India. Macmillan and Co., London, 1893.
Dr Hansdey Patel, Royal Families and Palaces of Gujarat. Windsor and Peacock Limited, 1998.
The Ruling Princes, Chiefs and Leading Personages in the Western India States Agency, 1st edition. Rajkot, 1928.
The Ruling Princes, Chiefs and Leading Personages in the Western India States Agency, 2nd edition. Manager of Publications, Delhi, 1935.
Who Was Who Vol. I - Vol. VIII, Adam & Charles Black, London, 1985.

Sharada Dwiwedi.
Father Lawrence Ober, SJ
Sahibzada Taimur Khan Palanpur.
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers
I would be grateful to hear from anyone who may have changes, corrections or additions to contribute. If you do, please be kind enough to send me an e-mail using the contact details at:
Copyrightę Christopher Buyers

CopyrightęChristopher Buyers, July 2001 - January 2019