The founder of the dynasty was Sardar Jassa Singh, from the villiage of Ahlu, near Lahore. He seized Kapurthala from Ibrahim Bhatti in 1777, thus founded the fortunes of the Royal house. Before his death, he had expanded his domains to the banks of the Jumna river. His cousin and successor was unable to hold onto all of the territory inherited from Jassa. However, his own son, Fateh Singh, was able to rebuild his legacy by joining forces with Ranjit Singh. The latter broke his agreements and forced Fateh Singh into a position of submission. He therefore sought an alliance with the British, left Kapurthala and placed himself under British protection at Jagraon. Ranjit singh promtly siezed much of his Kapurthala territory. More misfortune befell the house when the troops of Raja Nihal Singh failed to keep faith with his treaty obligations and revolted against the British during the first Sikh War of 1845. His territories south of the Sutlej were duely confiscated. By rendering distingusihed service during the Indian Mutiny of 1857, Raja Randhir Singh was able to restore much of the fortunes of his house. He received vast lands in the province of Oudh, yielding revenues equal in value to his own state of Kapurthala itself. He also had certain jagir lands in the Amritsar and Lahore districts returned to him.

13-guns (15-guns local).

Azure on a fesse or a field-piece gules; in chief a sun between two stars, in base a lotus bud and two leaves of the second. Crest: A sword erect proper hilted or. Supporters: Elephant proper and a horse sable. Motto: "Pro Rege et Patria" (For King and country). Lambrequins: Azure and or.

The ruling prince: Farzand-i-Dilband Rasikh-al-Iqtidad-i-Daulat-i-Inglishia, Raja-i-Rajagan, Maharaja (personal name) Singh Bahadur, Maharaja of Kapurthala, with the style of His Highness.
The (recognised) consort of the ruling prince: Maharani (personal name) Sahiba, with the style of Her Highness.
The Heir Apparent: Tikka Raja Shri (personal name) Singh, with the style of His Highness.
The younger sons of the ruling prince: Maharajkumar Shri (personal name) Singh.
The daughters of the ruling prince: Maharajkumari Bibiji (personal name).

Please see link below.


Male primogeniture.

Bahadur: honourable.
Dharamvir: defender of the faith, or of law.
Farzand-i-Dilband Rasikh-al-Iqtidad-i-Daulat-i-Inglishia: beloved and trusty son of the English nation.
Raja-i-Rajgan: prince of princes.
Rajpramukh: constitutional head of state.
Sardar: noble, commander.
Sultan ul-Qaum: ruler of the nation.


Charles Allen and Sharada Dwivedi, Lives of the Indian Princes. Century Publishing, London, 1984.
Burke's Genealogical and Heraldic History of the Peerage, Baronetage and Knightage. Burke's Peerage Limited, London, 1900-1959.
Burke's Peerage, Internet Edition, 2003.
Charanjit Singh v. Amir Ali Khan (Le Rossignol, J.). AIR (1921). All India Reporter, Vol II, Lahore, 1921.
G.L. Chopra. Chiefs and Families of Note in the Punjab. 3 Volumes. Superintendent of Government Printing, Lahore, 1940.
Major W.L. Conran and H.D. Craik. Chiefs and Families of Note in the Punjab. 3 Volumes. Government of the Punjab, Lahore, 1910-1911.
P.J. Fagan and C.M. King. Punjab District Gazeteers: Kapurthala State. The Punjab Government, Lahore, 1904.
Sir Lepel Henry Griffin. The Panjab Chiefs: Historical and Biographical Notices of the Principal Singh Families in the Territories Under the Panjab Government. Lahore, 1865.
Sir Lepel Henry Griffin & Charles Francis Massy (ed). The Panjab chiefs: historical and biographical notices of the principal Singh families in the Lahore and Rawalpindi divisions of the Panjab. Civil and Military Gazette Press, Lahore, 1890.
India Office Lists. Government of India, Calcutta and New Delhi, 1860-1947.
Indian States Forces Lists. Military Department of the Government of India, New Delhi, 1937-1944.
Waman P. Kabadi (ed.), Indian Who's Who 1937-38.Yeshanand & Co., Bombay, 1937.
Kapurthala State, its Past and Present. Kapurthala, 1928.
Indra Krishen. An Historical Interpretation of the Correspondence of Sir George Russel Clerk, Political Agent, Ambala and Ludhiana 1831-43. Thesis approved for the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy in the University of the Punjab, Lahore, January 1952.
List of Ruling Princes and Chiefs, Leading Men and Principal Officials. Punjab States Agency. Manager of Publications, Delhi, 1938.
Manual of Titles, United Provinces of Agra and Oudh. Government of the United Provinces, Allahabad, 1908.
Tony McClenaghan, Indian Princely Medals: A Record of the Orders, Decorations and Medals of the Indian Princely States. Lancer Publications, Spantech & Lancer, New Delhi, 1996.
Memoranda of Information regarding certain Native Chiefs. Volume II, Madras, Bengal, North-West Provinces, Punjab. IOR (L/PS/20/F76/2), Oriental & India Office Collection, British Library, St Pancras, London.
Memoranda on The Indian States 1940 (Corrected upto the 1st January 1940). Published by Authority, Manager of Publications, Delhi, 1940.
Northern India Who's Who. Lahore, Punjab, 1942.
Thacker's Indian Directory, Thacker's Press & Directories, Ltd., Caltutta 1863-1956.
A. Vadivelu, The Ruling Chiefs, Nobles & Zamindars of India. G.C. Loganadham Bros., Madras, 1915.
Who Was Who, Volumes I to Vol. VIII. A&C Black, London, 1915 - 1995.

Raja Brijendra Singh, Raja of Dada-Siba.
Maharajkumari Bibiji Gayatri Devi.
David Hodges.
Father Lawrence Ober, SJ.
Steve Ruelberg.
Mukuljit Singh.
Rajbir Singh.
Kanwar Uday Singh, of Jubbal.
Shri Vishvjit Prithvijit Singh (family of Kanwar Bikrama Singh).
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
I would be grateful to hear from anyone who may have changes, corrections or additions to contribute. If you do, please be kind enough to send me an e-mail using the contact details at:
Copyright© Christopher Buyers

Copyright© Christopher Buyers, June 2001 - May 2015