Royal Arms: Azure semé of estoiles Or, a phoenix crowned with the Royal Crown issuant from flames all of the second, in base on a Azure ribbon also of the second the words Je renais de mes cendres of the first, the escutcheon surmounted by the Royal Crown (eight jeweled arches, topped by a mound, alternating with eight small pearls on small triangular points) and encircled by the Collar of the Order of Saint Henry. Supporters: Two lions gardant ermine, each crowned with the Royal Crown. Motto: Dieu, ma cause et mon épée.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
The Sovereign: by the grace of God and the Constitutional Law of the state, King of Hayti, Sovereign of Tortuga, Gonaïves and other adjacent Islands, Destroyer of Tyranny, Regenerator and Benefactor of the Haitian Nation, Creator of her Moral, Political and Martial Institutions, First Crowned Monarch of the New World, Defender of the Faith, Founder of the Royal and Military Order of Saint-Henry, with the style of His Majesty.
The wife of the Sovereign: Queen of Hayti, with the style of Her Majesty.
The Heir Apparent: Prince Royal, with the style of His Royal Highness.
The younger sons of the Sovereign: Prince, with the style of His Royal Highness*.
The daughters of the Sovereign: Princess, with the style of Her Royal Highness*.
The Princes of the Blood: Prince, with the style of His Serene Highness**.
The wives of the princes of the Blood: Princess, with the style of Her Serene Highness**.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
* The Constitution originally specified Serene Highness as the style for the younger sons and daughters of the Sovereign, but this seems to have been changed to Royal Highness sometime in 1811.
** Princes of the Blood were so designated from amongst the close blood relatives of both the King and the Queen. By 1820 they included a legitimated son, a son of the King's sister and a brother of the Queen. Some of these individuals were granted the style of Royal Highness.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
The Constitution granted the King the right to create hereditary titles and confer other honours at his own descretion. The first patents were issued on 5th April 1811, when the King created 4 princes, 8 dukes, 22 counts, 37 barons and 14 chevaliers. The styles enjoyed by the holders of these titles were as follows:
Prince: Monseigneur le Prince, with the style of His Serene Highness.
Duke: Monseigneur le Duc.
Count: Monsieur le Comte.
Baron: Monsieur le Baron.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
The Constitution of 28th March 1811 declared the Crown to be hereditary in the family of King Henry I, and limited to the direct line of males, to the exclusion of females, according to primogeniture. The King retained the right to adopt the children of a prince of the blood in the absence of a son born of his own body.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
Please see link below.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
continued on the next page.
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
Copyright© Christopher Buyers
I would be grateful to hear from anyone who may have changes, corrections or additions to contribute. Please contact me at:
Copyright© Christopher Buyers

Copyright© Christopher Buyers, August 2000 - July 2008